A New Hampshire last will and testament is a protected document recognized by the state of New Hampshire that allows an individual, known as a Testator, to declare their final wishes of how they would like the assets of their estate distributed after their death. In New Hampshire, these documents are governed by Chapter 551 of the New Hampshire Revised Statutes. These statutes dictate that in order to create a will, the Testator must be at least 18 years of age or older and of sound mind to create a document like this. In addition, these statutes require two (2) or more credible witnesses to sign the will after the Testator has completed the document. In addition, these statutes specify that Oral Wills, also known as Nuncupative Wills, will be recognized, however, there are restrictions. Oral Wills in New Hampshire may disperse no more than $100 worth of property. Additionally, these wills must be declared in the presence of at least three (3) witnesses and made during the Testator's final sickness. The state of New Hampshire does not recognize nor enforce Holographic Wills.
Completing a New Hampshire Will is a straightforward process that requires specific details to ensure there is no confusion after the Testator's death. The first piece of information that a Testator must provide is their full name and address. Next, the Testator will need to appoint an Executor to carry out the responsibilities of their estate. Once the Executor has been named, the Testator may then dictate how their estate is to be divided. The estate can be divided between surviving children, or between loved ones, and even donated to charity. Once this direction has been clearly described in the will, the Testator along with his or her witnesses will sign it so that it may take effect.